Nigerian School Books

August 18, 2008

Standing outside the book festival handing out bookmarkers I met a guy who was promoting an African Children Stories show happening later that day. I got chatting to him and he let me know something quite interesting.

Apparently the rate of inflation in Nigeria has made many things unaffordable for a lot of people, one of them is school books. He’s been spending his time trying to find second hand school books (I don’t think the subject matters or even age range) to send to Nigeria where they’re screaming out for these kinda resources.  Education is a big thing in Nigeria (where isn’t it?) and this would be a huge help for a lot of kids.

I said I would help anyway I could, so…

Does anyone know anywhere or anyhow to get a load of second hand school books to send to Nigeria?

One Response to “Nigerian School Books”

  1. Agnes said

    Try few local libraries. I am librarian myself and every 3-6 months I do weeding of the stock to get rid of old editions and damaged copies, which are still useable. I do keep withdrawn junior non-fiction books for the lady who takes them every year to Africa to local school library. Ask librarians to do the same for you.

Leave a Reply

